The county is bordered by the Uasin Gishu County to the north, Baringo County to the northeast, Nandi County to the northwest, Nakuru to the east and Bomet County to the south. It is bordered to the Southwest by Nyamira and Homabay counties and to the West by Kisumu County. The county covers a total area of 2,479 sq km.